Author Topic: Powering Computer  (Read 1215 times)

(unknown)

Powering Computer
« on: September 29, 2005, 07:24:06 AM »
Hi all,

I have a plan to just power my computer (has 400W power supply, 14'/15' CRT monitor, mouse, keyboard) modem, printer and fluorescent light about 12' long (table work light).

I am thinking of using wind or solar power and a power transformer.

I've never done a project like this before.

Does anyone have some solutions on how to tackle this?

Should I create a huge windmill like the guy who runs the site did and connect it to a truck/car battery and hook it onto a 12V DC->220V AC transformer? would that harvest enough power?

Future plans are to power my parent's entire house with wind or solar (they have 1 side by side fridge, 1 fridge/freezer and 1 6' freezer along with other power hungry appliances)

« Last Edit: September 29, 2005, 07:24:06 AM by (unknown) »

inode buddha

Re: Powering Computer
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2005, 01:48:30 AM »
You could almost do away with the transformer altogether since most computers run on +12 V amd +5 V internally. All you would need is a battery and a couple of solid-state voltage regulators. The CRT and etc. is a different matter.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2005, 01:48:30 AM by (unknown) »

drdongle

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2005, 05:29:27 AM »
You can also get power supplies for computers designed to run off 12,24 and 48 VDC

directly. I believe "Globaltek" is one make of these.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2005, 05:29:27 AM by (unknown) »

stevesteve

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2005, 07:30:53 AM »
Hi,

You could have a look at www.mini-itx.com there are lots of low power (consumption) motherboards there and power supplies designed to run off car batteries etc.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2005, 07:30:53 AM by (unknown) »

wooferhound

• SuperHero Member
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2005, 07:47:13 AM »