Author Topic: How to wire to house  (Read 1514 times)

soyer38301

How to wire to house
« on: July 14, 2008, 05:37:36 AM »
Hello - newbie here. I have become very interested in putting one or two 500W to 1KW wind generators on my property (3 acres in the county). I am planning on building them myself.

How would one connect the generator to one's house when you are not looking to be "off grid"? I just want to lower my bill at this point. I don't have the cash for a system large enough to run the entire house. Nor, from what I have seen of the grid-tie inverter prices, can I afford one of those.

I just want to supplement our electric usage with the turbines....

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Scott Oyer

« Last Edit: July 14, 2008, 05:37:36 AM by (unknown) »

elt

Re: How to wire to house
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 04:15:53 AM »
Hi Scott,

You'll need batteries and an inverter to convert the power to 110v (or whatever your local voltage is) and then, yes it's a good question, how to you use it? If you don't use it, you're wasting electricity as surely as if you left the lights on... (And burning fossil fuel or whatever at your power station when you didn't need to.)

At best, my mill only supplies about a tenth the electricity that we use.  

I have a fairly simple system for my green power: the batteries and inverter are in the garage. I run an extension cord through a hole into the basement, across the length of the house, and then up into the sun room where we spend most of our time. From there, I can plug in whatever will match the amount of power I'm making. In the Summer, it's not much but it was enough to power some lights. In the Fall, it was enough to power the TV. (The mill tower didn't survive into Winter so I'm not sure yet what the windy season would have powered.)

I do have a "transfer switch" (google that) that will route the about a quarter of our house wiring to our backup generator but I'm not making enough wind power to plug into that (yet!) ...