Author Topic: newbie  (Read 926 times)

jc163

« on: April 25, 2007, 01:35:04 AM »
Im very new to all of this, so please bear with me. I would like to start working on some wind and solar power for my home here in Texas, but not sure where to start. Im on the grid but out of the city limits.  how many watts does the avg. person use a day? I just found this site tonight and I already love it! Keep up the good work! Thanks for anybodys help/advice.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2007, 01:35:04 AM by (unknown) »

sk windpirate

Re: newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2007, 08:51:10 PM »
Question: How many watts does the avg. person use a day?

Well i would say, You are the only person that could answer that! "Check your power bill" Thats how many you use. If you are looking to save some money, Just start puling out the plugs on all of appliances that have a remotes. change to floresent bulbs. Then check again. To see what you have saved.

Ron    

« Last Edit: April 24, 2007, 08:51:10 PM by sk windpirate »

wooferhound

• SuperHero Member
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2007, 02:06:26 AM »
Conservation is the place to start

It costs more to make your own electricity than it costs to buy electricity from the grid. Even if you make your own power, some items in the house pull such large amounts of wattage that it is almost impossible to to power them. These items would be the Air Conditioner, Dryer, Stove, Water Heater and Refrigerator/Freezers.

Conserve as much as you can, then check your Electric usage to determine what you need to get started.

« Last Edit: April 25, 2007, 02:06:26 AM by wooferhound »

nothing to lose

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2007, 03:02:49 AM »
As was said already,