Author Topic: 24v or 48v  (Read 18512 times)

swiftden

24v or 48v
« on: May 24, 2010, 07:27:09 AM »
Hello

I am from South Australia.  I am new to all this but have bought a property and will need remote power.

I plan on using wind and solar to charge a battery bank with a generator as backup.

My questions are this.

Which one is better? 24v or 48v ??

what are the pros and cons of each ?

regards
Allan 

harley1782000

• I thought so too.....
Re: 24v or 48v
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 08:03:03 AM »
I had ask that question before.  48 volt is better.  More voltage, smaller the wire and you can get more distance.  More voltage the longer it will last.  Here is a question I had ask about the what to use.

http://fieldlines.com/board/index.php/topic,135850.0.html
« Last Edit: May 24, 2010, 08:06:11 AM by harley1782000 »

freejuice

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 03:12:22 PM »
Hi Allen,
 I'm a rookie myself, but as the fellow said, 48V is better, you can run smaller gage wire etc. However the type of inverter can really be costly....if you go with... say an Outback inverter the cost wil lbe about the same, if you use 24volt or 48 volt however if you plan on using the kung-fu type of inverters, then the 24v might be cheaper.
 I discoverd that 48v inverters are expensive...but if you are serious about this, then it might be the best way from the get-go.
 You have less losses with a 48 volt system over a 24 and  its much, much better than a 12v system
 If I had to make long wire runs, that would also push my decision more towards a 48v system.
 All the best,
 Gavin

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 07:14:38 PM »
Google RAPS (remote area power supply) if you meet the criteria the government will pay half. Selectronics make 48V inverters with real surge capabilities, you would have to enlighten us on projected load to give a, informed answer.

allan
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

swiftden