Author Topic: starting new windmill  (Read 6169 times)

methanolcat

starting new windmill
« on: July 14, 2007, 04:16:33 AM »
hello to all and thankyou in advance for all your knowledge, ideas and opinions. I'm new to all of you but I've been keeping up on this board nearly every day for the last year. I have to give it up for zubbly on this motor conversion I am doing. It's a 7.5 baldor conversion that I will use for heating in the winter and battery charging during the remainder of the time. As you will see I am quite capable in most all you do here, I'm a tool and die maker/welder with access to all equiptment when I'm not working. I also have some background in electronics, only some, I can identify components, assemble circuits, read schematics, understand the workings of many simple components, but I'm no designer or engineer so some of the talk on the board is a mystery for me at this time, I learn quick though. Anyhow, thankyou all and here are some pic's that I have taken and I will post more as I progress.

mags and modified rotor, 2x1x.5 n42 mags

end/inside view hollow core to reduce weight

magnets screwed in place and 15 guage wire

another view of rotor with fan

laminates removed, skewed 10 degrees, reinstalled and painted

close up of skewed lams

new slotliners installed

wired and dipped in motor varnish, I wired all 36 connections external, sorry I didn't take pic's of every step, mostly the same as zubbly's conversion

mag rotor installed, used the throw it in method except i used a protector/ guide to help line everything up and for protection

I left only minimal clearance to get the most out of the magnets, shaft turns with no cogging at all with the skewed laminates. I did a voltage test wired 1 star and I get .4 volts per revolution at all speeds tested, more to come later, 60 foot freestanding tower, wood blades, more testing, I havn't done an amperage test yet
« Last Edit: July 14, 2007, 04:16:33 AM by (unknown) »

methanolcat