Author Topic: adjustable3 blades  (Read 3043 times)

thirteen

• Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
adjustable3 blades
« on: December 25, 2007, 07:57:05 AM »
Is there any blades out there that are auto pitch adjusting to maintain certain speeds? It just might not be within reason.  I do not have any wind driven turbines but just a question.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 07:57:05 AM by (unknown) »
MntMnROY 13

fungus

Re: adjustable3 blades
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2007, 03:43:39 AM »
It is possible, google search the board with "pitch control" and you'll find lots of information. It does require quite a lot of machining skills though.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 03:43:39 AM by fungus »

GeeMac

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2007, 11:26:54 AM »
Perhaps a look at a airplane's variable pitch prop will give you some ideas.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 11:26:54 AM by GeeMac »

thirteen

« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2007, 12:01:54 PM »
I used to work as a helicopter mechanic when I was in the Army and then the National Guard. I just haven't heard of anyone doing it on a wind generator(turbine).  I think that it would require alot of design but an automatic sytem could be of a benefit if you were in a high wind area. The weight would be the biggest problem. Just thinking of odd ideas for a project. MtMnRoy  
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 12:01:54 PM by thirteen »
MntMnROY 13

wdyasq

« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2007, 01:21:48 PM »
Jacobs used a pitch control. Someone has done a lot of your research:

http://tinyurl.com/3dapll

Ron

« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 01:21:48 PM by wdyasq »
"I like the Honey, but kill the bees"

thirteen

« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2007, 01:28:03 PM »
thanks for info
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 01:28:03 PM by thirteen »
MntMnROY 13

thirteen

« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2007, 01:43:25 PM »
thanks alot of information there to read.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 01:43:25 PM by thirteen »
MntMnROY 13

bob golding