Author Topic: Iron Genny  (Read 5959 times)

phil b

Iron Genny
« on: June 02, 2007, 05:09:30 PM »
It has some old and new ideas incorporated into it's unique design.

I'm not too good at 'splain' things, but here goes...

Double 12" rotors with 24 magnets each, 18 coils on each side of a magnet steel laminated stator. 8 foot prop.

I told you it was different!

This unit was built in an attempt to accomplish several things:

1. have fun!
  2. user adjustable furl
  3. deal with excessive heat in the stator
  4. 24 and 48 volt capabilities, maybe higher too
  5. seal the blades to keep moisture from entering and unbalancing them.
  6. have fun!

I started off with a piece of 3/4" steel laminate, wound just

like the stators were made on the old otherpower board. I used

the same mold as the rotor was cast in and wound the laminates

as tight as I could. Next, it was drenched in electrical

varnish and air dried. I quickly learned the magnets would

still warp the laminates. So,I drilled 18 holes around the

parameter and inserted 1/4" stainless steel allthread. 3/32"

steel hoops were added to secure the laminated firmly.  I also had to weld the laminates about 1/8" deep on each side using a 308 stainless steel rod. The 1/4" allthread was tightned evenly around the hoop with a torque wrench at 12 ft/lbs.