Author Topic: Lamimated Blade questions  (Read 2771 times)

phil b

Lamimated Blade questions
« on: November 16, 2004, 07:59:43 PM »
I was given ash wood strips from a cabinet shop. They measure 1" X 1/4" and some are 1" X 1/8". Very smooth and the dimensions are very close. I'm thinking they will make a set of strong blades for Hugh's 8',dual rotor machine. I clamped one end 6" into a vise, to simulate the hub end and bent the other to simulate the twist in the plans. No problem. I have no knowledge of laminated blade construction. I've made 3 sets of blades to date. They are getting easier and are getting faster to build.

1. Does ash have better strength than pine or 'white wood'?
  2. What glue should I use?
  3. Can I put glue between layers of wood and bend one end to create the blade twist without compromising strength?
  4. Hugh's plans use 2"X6"'s. Will 1" of laminated ash be as good or better than the 2X6?
  5. Would photos of the strips help ????

Comments are appreciated!

Phil

« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 07:59:43 PM by (unknown) »
Phil

sh123469

Re: Lamimated Blade questions
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2004, 08:41:20 PM »
We were told in our high school woodshop classes that laminates are stronger than the same size piece of clear wood.  I have never had the occasion to try or test this to see how true it is.  

I would be very concerned about the adhesive used and whether or not it would stand up to the climatic exposure.

« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 08:41:20 PM by sh123469 »

whatsnext

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2004, 10:13:43 PM »
Laminates are MUCH stronger. They are also much heavier. There are waterproof versions of Elmers glue that should handle the weather just fine. Here goes:

1. Yes, they make baseball bats of ash.
  2. Waterproof woodworker's glue.
  3. Yes