Author Topic: Hydraulic Based Wind Generator  (Read 6399 times)

driezl

Hydraulic Based Wind Generator
« on: July 22, 2006, 01:13:03 PM »
Dear all,

I'm thinking about building a Wind Generator. I have no experience and was looking on the internet for building plans etc.

On http://eduhosting.org/windpics/hyd1.html I found a nice combination of windgenerator for electricity AND hot water. I would like to build something like this. Anyone with experience in Hydraulic Based Wind Generators??

thanks in advance,

Dries

« Last Edit: July 22, 2006, 01:13:03 PM by (unknown) »

DanB

• Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
    • otherpower.com
Re: Hydraulic Based Wind Generator
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2006, 07:23:09 AM »
That page is largely 'wrong' - that site is full of misinformation.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2006, 07:23:09 AM by DanB »
If I ever figure out what's in the box then maybe I can think outside of it.

driezl

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2006, 07:36:01 AM »
the page looks largely wrong indeed. But the idea is not wrong I think. Or are there problems that can't be solved?
« Last Edit: July 22, 2006, 07:36:01 AM by driezl »

jimjjnn

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2006, 07:37:58 AM »
Who wants gallons of hydraulic fluid 100 feet in the air? The liability would be too much for me. Also need rotating couplings for hyd fluid.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2006, 07:37:58 AM by jimjjnn »

wdyasq

scams
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2006, 07:58:35 AM »
With wind one doesn't have much to work with to begin with. If there are any power robbing devices, like a gear set, it takes that power from the very small supply of energy. This leaves less for use. I have never seen a hydraulic system deliver over 50% of the power it took to drive it except in very large systems. It is mainly used because of the infinate control it gives.